Villarreal vs Real Madrid score, result: La Liga champions lose 2-1 against Gerard Moreno and Yellow Submarine

Quick Bit: Real Madrid had a chance to take the lead atop the La Liga table, but they flopped to a 2-1 loss at Villarreal, who outplayed the defending champions and deserved the victory with an outstanding performance from Gerard Moreno.

Full Story:

Defending champions Real Madrid can jump ahead of rivals FC Barcelona for first place in La Liga when they travel to face seventh-place Villarreal on Saturday.

Real are level on points at the summit with Barcelona, but the goal difference tiebreaker has them in second place heading into the weekend round of matches. Barca will be in action on Sunday against 2021 champions Atletico Madrid.

While Real Madrid have won both of their matches since the return from the 2022 World Cup break — two road clean sheets, including one in the Copa del Rey — Villarreal have won three in that same span, with an additional round in the Copa del Rey tournament.

After going winless in his first four matches after taking over Villarreal from former coach Unai Emery, who moved to Aston Villa, Quique Setien has seen his Yellow Submarine win their last five straight competitive games. It’s a confidence-building run for a coach who had been out of the game for over two years.

Madrid will be hoping to continue to build momentum of their own as they head into the Spanish Supercopa, which will be played in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. It’ll be the second chance to hoist silverware in 2022/23 for Los Merengues, who already won the 2022 UEFA Super Cup in August.

Sporting News is following the Villarreal vs. Real Madrid match live and providing live score updates, commentary.

MORE: Updated La Liga standings La Liga top scorers

Villarreal vs Real Madrid live score

1H
2H
Final
Villarreal



Real Madrid


Goals: None

Villarreal vs Real Madrid live updates, highlights from La Liga

150 mins from kickoff: Real Madrid coach Carlo Ancelotti noted that he’s expecting an open match based on how Villarreal have been looking in recent weeks under new boss Quique Setien.

180 mins from kickoff: Marca’s front cover highlights the fact that the last five Real Madrid trips to face Villarreal have ended in a draw (noted with an ‘X’ in Europe).

MORE: Latest Real Madrid transfer news

Villarreal vs Real Madrid lineups

It remains to be seen whether Alex Baena can unseat one of the midfield trio, while Nicolas Jackson and Arnaut Danjuma should be on the bench behind now-healthy starting center-forward Gerard Moreno. Giovani Lo Celso is still injured, while goalkeeper Geronimo Rulli was transferred to Dutch club Ajax this week.

Villarreal projected starting lineup (4-3-3, right to left): 1-Pepe Reina (GK) — 8-Juan Foyth, 3-Raul Albiol, 4-Pau Torres, 18-Alberto Moreno — 6-Etienne Capoue, 10-Dani Parejo, 19-Francis Coquelin — 11-Samuel Chukwueze, 7-Gerard Moreno, 21-Yeremy Pino

Villarreal subs (12): 35-Filip Jorgensen (GK), 23-Aissa Mandi, 24-Alfonso Pedraza, 2-Kiko Femenia, 5-Jorge Cuenca, 12-Johan Mojica, 16-Alex Baena, 14-Manu Trigueros, 22-Jose Luis Morales, 20-Manu Morlanes, 15-Nicolas Jackson, 9-Arnaut Danjuma

Real Madrid are without three injured players who are not yet fit: forward Mariano Diaz, and right-backs Dani Carvajal and Alvaro Odriozola. Given the latter absences, Lucas Vazquez is likely to start again at right-back despite going a full 90 minutes in the 1-0 midweek Copa del Rey victory against Cacereno.

Real Madrid projected starting lineup (4-3-3, right to left): 1-Thibaut Courtois (GK) — 17-Lucas Vazquez, 3-Eder Militao, 4-David Alaba, 23-Ferland Mendy — 10-Luka Modric, 18-Aurelien Tchouameni, 8-Toni Kroos –15-Federico Valverde, 9-Karim Benzema, 20-Vinicius Jr

Real Madrid subs (10): 13-Andriy Lunin (GK), 26-Luis Lopez (GK), 22-Antonio Rudiger, 6-Nacho Fernandez, 5-Jesus Vallejo, 19-Dani Ceballos, 12-Eduardo Camavinga, 7-Eden Hazard, 11-Marco Asensio, 21-Rodrygo

MORE: Real Madrid squad list and jersey numbers for 2022/23

Watch Villarreal vs Real Madrid live stream, TV

Villarreal’s Estadio de la Ceramica will be sold out for the La Liga showdown against defending Spanish and European champions Real Madrid.

The club made a victorious return to its stadium on Dec. 31 after playing home games in nearby Valencia for the first three months of the 2022/23 season while La Ceramica was being renovated.

Date
Time
TV Channel
Streaming
Australia
Sun, Jan. 8
02:15 AET

Optus Sport
Canada
Sat, Jan. 7
10:15 ET
TSN2
TSN GO, TSN site/app
Hong Kong
Sat, Jan. 7
23:15 HKT
Now Sports 2
Now Player, M Plus site/app
India
Sat, Jan. 7
20:45 IST
Sports18
Voot Select, Sports18
Malaysia
Sat, Jan. 7
23:15 MYT
beIN Sports
beIN Sports Connect, sooka
New Zealand
Sun, Jan. 8
04:15 NZST

beIN Sports Connect
Singapore
Sat, Jan. 7
23:15 SST
beIN Sports
beIN Sports Connect,Star Hub Sports+
UK
Sat, Jan. 7
15:15 BST

LaLigaTV, Viaplay UK
USA
Sat, Jan. 7
10:15 ET
ESPN Deportes
fuboTV, ESPN+

UK: The match will be available on Viaplay (formerly Premier Sports) and on LaLigaTV.

USA: The Villarreal vs. Real Madrid match will be televised on ESPN Deportes which is streamed on fuboTV. It will also be streamed in English and Spanish on ESPN+.

Canada: TSN holds TV and streaming rights for La Liga in Canada. The Villarreal vs. Real Madrid match will be televised on TSN2 and streaming on TSN’s online platforms.

Australia: Fans in Australia can stream all La Liga matches live and on demand on Optus Sport.

Originally found on Sporting News Read More

Similar Posts