Quick Bit: David Ortiz will headline a large class as he’s inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Full Story:

Sunday will be a big day in Cooperstown, N.Y. All-Star Week will truly conclude with this year’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

The 2022 class will be led by legendary slugger David Ortiz, who will be joined by Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Mi?oso, Tony Oliva, Bud Fowler and Buck O’Neil.

The class of seven is the biggest in a single year for the Baseball Hall of Fame since 2006, when 18 new members were enshrined with the then-newly formed Committee on African-American Baseball.

MORE: Derek Jeter documentary: Full schedule to watch ESPN’s ‘The Captain’

MLB Network will be the sole carrier of the Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

When is the Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony?

Date: Sunday, July 24
Time: 1:30 p.m. ET

While the main induction ceremony is on Sunday, the festivities began Saturday as ESPN’s Tim Kurkjian received the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s Career Excellence Award for his contributions to baseball writing, while Jack Graney was honored posthumously with the Ford C. Frick Award for his broadcasting work.

On Sunday, Ortiz will headline the official ceremony for new inductees. The ceremony will be held on stage in front of more than 50 Hall of Fame members.

What channel is the Baseball Hall of Fame induction on?

TV channel: MLB Network
Live stream: fuboTV

MLB Network will be carrying the Baseball Hall of Fame induction, with coverage beginning at 11 a.m. ET on Sunday leading up to the 1:30 p.m. ET induction ceremony.

Who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2022?

There are seven Baseball Hall of Fame inductees in the 2022 class:

David Ortiz
Gil Hodges
Jim Kaat
Minnie Mi?oso
Tony Oliva
Bud Fowler
Buck O’Neil

Ortiz, Kaat and Oliva will be on hand for their enshrinement. Hodges, Mi?oso, Fowler and O’Neil will be honored posthumously.

Originally found on Sporting News Read More

Leave a Comment